x

You have decided to merge your account with the GOG.com.

You can now start participating in the community discussions.

x

You chose to opt out from the merge process.
Please note that you will not be able to access your account until you opt in.

We strongly encourage you to merge your RED account with the GOG.com one.
If you want to do it later please try logging in again.

  • Register

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Summoning Circle description wording issue

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Summoning Circle description wording issue

    "Summoning circle: Spawn a base copy of the last Bronze or Silver Unit any player placed on the board. Leaders cannot be copied."

    1. If a player plays a Gold Unit and the other player uses Dimetirium Shackles, SC should not spawn the silver demoted gold unit as it actually does. That player did not placed a Bronze or Silver Unit, but a Gold one. Duh?

    2. If a player plays whatever unit and the other player uses Coral to transform it in a Jade Figurine, SC should spawn the base copy of that unit and not of the Jade Figurine, as it actually does. First player didn't placed a Jade Figurine! Duh???

    In none of the above cases the SC does not a return the last bronze or silver any player P-L-A-C-E-D on the board.

    If the intention was to spawn the bronze or silver unit which appeared the LAST on either tables right before the end of a turn, then modify the text accordingly!
    Last edited by Stormbuster; 07-10-17, 21:30.

  • #2
    I've modified the title so it's less aggressive and actually describes the problem you're having.

    Comment


    • #3
      The wording could be indeed more clear. I kind of disagree with the second point, I find the card function logical in spawning Jade Figurine in that case, second player placed it, even if it's result of an spell.

      On first point I agree, I find it illogical and problematic. Once Dimeritium Shackles or Dimeritium Bomb has been used on Gold unit to demote it to Silver, you can use Summoning Circle to summon a whole new Gold Unit. And the unit it spawns is indeed spawned as Gold Unit, not Silver. In extreme case with the help of Renew, decoy and units able to resurrect, you can get to play the same Gold unit three times as Gold and three times as Silver. If you are Nilfgaard you get to up that even 5 times as Silver, getting same Gold card effect up to 8 times.
      Last edited by thxgg; 08-10-17, 09:14.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by thxgg View Post
        The wording could be indeed more clear. I kind of disagree with the second point, I find the card function logical in spawning Jade Figurine in that case, second player placed it, even if it's result of an spell.
        The text description for Coral is not "banish a unit and replace it with a Jade Figurine" (or similar for Artefact Compression) I don't see any connection between verbs "to transform" and "to place". The card placed by first player is not the Jade Figurine. The second player didn't placed it either. The latter just used a spell like others in the game, affecting units in various ways, by boosting/damaging/killing/transforming them.

        I somehow agree as, with some imagination effort, one can understand this spell like the affected unit is banished and a JF is placed as a replacement. Still, in my opinion, the wording should be more clear.

        Comment


        • #5
          Yeh it´s true

          Comment


          • #6
            As a Computer Science student and a trilinguist I can guarantee you there is nothing wrong with the wording. Though, I Agree the card shouldn't work in this way.
            For 1. here is the example:
            Player 1 placed Gold A on the board, Player 2 played Gold B. Player 1 demoted A, Player 2 then plays a Summoning Circle.
            The system then check,
            a) is A placed later than all other silver and bronze unit? Yes!
            b) is A bronze or silver? Yes!
            Then the Summoning Circle summons a base copy of A which is a gold copy of A.

            For 2. here is the example:
            Player 1 placed bronze A then Bronze B on the board, Player 2 Coral'd B. Player 1 then plays a Summoning Circle.
            The system then check,
            a) is B(now a jade figure) placed later than all other silver and bronze unit? Yes!
            b) is B(now a jade figure) bronze or silver? Yes!
            Then the Summoning Circle summons a base copy of B which is a jade figure.

            As you can see the program is working exact as the text describes, though it could be a bit op/up.

            Comment


            • #7
              I agree that the description is misleading in some cases, but i think the effect is what's supposed to do, they should just change the description.

              Having said that, i lost track of how many times i screwed myself using Summoning Circle, expecting to replicate a card only to get another...

              Comment


              • #8
                I don't use Summoning circle, so I'm not very knowledgeable about its behaviour besides couple of instances I've observed. But I saw issues like if you copy Morkvarg, it doesn't create a BASE copy but it uses it's current strength. More than that, if Morkvarg just resurrected at the beginning of the new round you cannot copy him but you copy the last unit from previous round, which is inconsistent with jade figurine and demoting gold cards. So, it's very buggy, I suggest somebody report it to devs via bug reporting.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Did a quick search for similar didn't see one soo I hope I'm not double posting.

                  Soo exapmpleplay as follows:
                  I play Reaver Hunter
                  Enemy Plays Jade Compression on said Reaver Hunter.
                  I play Summoning Circle, only to summon another jade talisman.....

                  Correct me if i'm wrong but should I not have summoned a Reaver? Since the prior Reaver was TRANSFORMED not SUMMONED.

                  Seems like a bug to me.. if not then then Summoning circle needs to say .."play a base copy of the last unit Played or Transformed by any player"

                  Thanks

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Aflickted View Post
                    Did a quick search for similar didn't see one soo I hope I'm not double posting.
                    Eh, well... *scrolls up*

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Coral transforms your unit to a figurine then you use Summoning Circle and hurray you get another figurine!

                      -Summoning Circle's text "Spawn a base copy of the last Bronze or Silver Unit any player placed on the Board. Leaders cannot be copied."
                      -Coral's text "Transform a Bronze or Silver Unit into a Jade Figurine.

                      I think the text should be clarified.
                      Technically any unit played either from deck or via spells is placed on board but Summoning Circle should copy the last bronze or silver unit placed by player. It doesn't copy Roach for example even though many times he is the last card placed on board at the end of the turn (and i mean that's the way it should be working)

                      Why is the transformed unit considered a new placement? If it's intended that way shouldn't writing something like "Replaces a bronze or silver unit with a Jade Figurine then banishes the unit" would be better for clarification? (since it's irreversible and banish is the term used in game for removing the unit from game)
                      Last edited by altaybek; 12-11-17, 01:19.
                      "None shall pass"

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        altaybek

                        thread merged

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Currently "Artefact Compression" counts as "player move", that means if you use "Summoning Circle" after it, it will result by simply another jade statue.
                          in my opinion this should not be the case and "Artefact Compression" should be rather treated as "spell", since the player who plays "Artefact Compression" basically does not play a new unit on the deck he just transforms an existing unit.

                          OR: to be consequent in the other way: in case "Summoning Circle" is used directly after "Artefact Compression" it should allow to use the deploy ability. That would also result in some nice "revenge".

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Just - no. Because, it's a spell - not a unit. So summoning circle cannot generate spells, simply spoken. And it's correctly taken, the last figure, an artefact figure ist placed so summoning circle works as it should.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Gemueseknolle

                              thread merged

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X