Changes to the use of Meteorite Powder

+

Burza46

CD PROJEKT RED

Recently we’ve decided that bundles will mostly be purchasable for real money both on PC, consoles and later in the future on iOS.

This change will help us grow the game more and create really sweet vanities in the future. Some ornaments will still be purchasable with meteorite powder.

With update 4.0 our in-game shop description of meteorite powder will read: Meteorite powder can be used to transmute standard cards into their animated, premium version. It's also used to purchase some of the ornaments - available in different shop sections.

As an accountant i believe that the best way to monetize a f2p game like gwent is the ingame microtransactions (with some exceptions of course). If you continue keep the gameplay free as it is (i.e. cards, expansions) and you will monetize other game's elements (i.e. leader skins, cardbacks, profile avatars, boards) i believe that gwent would be on a good standing. Just make sure you keep some free like the seasonal and the event ones.

Not playing as much anymore, but can someone help me understand what the difference is with the current concept of powder? Most of the "free" stuff you missed out on is only purchasable with $, and that's completely fine.

Afaik, you use powder to "transmute" (which remains) and you could use it to purchase the boards. The only conclusion I can make is that the latter option will be limited? Because if you can buy "some ornaments" that sounds almost like an upgrade of powder instead of a restriction, given almost everything is $ only lately.

If it's a devaluation than that is a pity, given I spend all the money I threw at the game on thàt, but it's fine. As a casual player the game has been a blast so far so you deserve it. The fact remains it's a true F2P game where imo you don't have to spend any $ at all if you don't want to.

Probably a smart change in the long run even if it removes most of the value of meteorite dust.