Do Not Be Afraid About CP2077

+
Status
Not open for further replies.
I think we know 95% of the game systems already:
-skill tree was shown (not in every details but it's mainly passive bonuses)
-looting was shown (whether we'll see the same weapon in both legendary and common versions we don't know)
-levels and bullet sponges were shown
-stealth and hacking were shown
-dialogues were shown
-techie was not shown but they said it's mainly using bots
-people who watched the behind closed door demo also saw that driving, gunplay and AI are far from excellence. Very far.

except for the last ones, the rest won't change for sure.

If I was a game developer, I would ask myself what does my game do differently or better than other games.

It's 100% guaranteed the game wont be better in shooter aspects than pure shooter games, so thats not something we should count on. That's not to say that CP can't HAVE shooter aspects, just that they shouldn't be the main focus. We should focus on the aspects that are 'special', like the fact that we have dialogue and deeper, more complex interactions with the 'vendors'; or the tech tree abilities.

Crafting is also somewhat 'par for the course' at this point in CRPG development, and in my opinion quite uninteresting. It also brings with it the danger of excessive loot-gathering which annoyed me in Witcher 3. I would honestly like to see some deeper minigames related to tech-tree than bog-standard crafting. Or at the very least let us craft something properly cool, instead of just ammo and stuff.

I'm somewhat worried that so many parts of the skill tree are dedicated to combat, even if the game will be combat-focused. Maybe it means that the more special branches of the tree like tech, are meant to be always present (its easier to invest in one tree than investing in 2-3 trees). But if you are always expected to take certain tree, why is the option even there? Why not simply make it freely available to everyone?