GWENT: Community Q&A Thread - Ask Your Questions Here

+
Hi everyone. I had no idea where to post this, so I am trying my luck here. I am new to the game (started today) and I wondered if there is only an online option to the game? I do prefer to play offline or in some kind of story mode - but it seems it doesn´t exist? So for example on the main menue I have "standard" mode and then play. I noticed after some games that I was actually playing against human adversaries. I had assumed this is an offline game like the gwent in The Witcher 3. Ok, so then I went to "training mode". Here it is obvious that I played against the AI. However, I did not receive any kind of rewards. So to summarize: the only way to experience this game 100 % (including receiving levels, rewards, materials etc.) is to play against human adversaries? I do so much hope not...

Yes, there's only online mode, and yes, you only receive rewards by playing against real people.
Training mode is the only mode, where you face AI. When you get to play this game a bit more and learn how certain cards work, you will notice that AI in training mode is often making irrational moves (as if it was playing against itself). So if training mode rewarded resources, then people would abuse it to farm them. As you probably also noticed, there's an in-game shop, where CDPR sells resources for real money, so it would not make sense if with practically no significant effort you could collect resources, which someone else had to buy for real money. Therefore they give you choice - spend some money or invest your time in playing against real people. Gwent is in my opinion very generous when it comes to resources, so if you enjoy the game and play a lot, your card collection will grow at a good pace (just remember to check and completed contracts, regularly spend your reward points in reward books, mill duplicate cards, etc. - THIS post should be helpful).

Last edited: