Beginner Melee / Athletics Help plz!

+
So I've already created my character, Nomad, and I had planned to go for a Primary Melee (Katana) / Some LR (sniper) / and some kind of crafting build for my character. I'm new to the game though i've had it for awhile. But I read that there is a huge problem with Athletics? Should I altogether avoid a Melee build? Or What are some recommendations to either get around this dilemma? Do you really need Athletics to have a good Melee build?
I'd greatly appreciate and welcome any tips & suggestions! Thanks
-BattouZen

I dont know. There probably is someone who knows the ins and outs of the system. In my opinion there is some kind of problem with athletics, in that it doesn't level up properly.

My attempted second playthrough I meant to make a "strong solo" who uses gorilla arms as the main weapon. I'm currently lvl 30, with 54 perk points spent, used gorilla arms melee all the time and my athletics is 5. I dont know but that seems low.
Cyberpunk 2077 Screenshot 2022.01.05 - 01.42.38.53.png

Melee as a build works just fine, as long as you focus on body (blunt melee) or reflexes (blades). Or maybe both like my first playthrough. I took cool here because I wanted to see if a "tank"-like build is possible. Not very good at least.

So I've already created my character, Nomad, and I had planned to go for a Primary Melee (Katana) / Some LR (sniper) / and some kind of crafting build for my character. I'm new to the game though i've had it for awhile. But I read that there is a huge problem with Athletics? Should I altogether avoid a Melee build? Or What are some recommendations to either get around this dilemma? Do you really need Athletics to have a good Melee build?
-BattouZen

"ATHLETICS DESCRIPTION"

"Related Attribute: Body"
  • "This skill can be leveled up by executing physical actions such as Running, Climbing, Sliding, Using your melee weapon and ripping out guns from turrets...