I was hoping the DLC story wasn't with Silverhand

+
Status
Not open for further replies.
V doesn't beat the dragon, get the girl, and live happily ever after. V still dies. Because what V is primarily is a medium for Johnny to finish his story.
I guess beating one of the strongest people in their world and severely crippling Arasaka can't be in any way, shape or form considered as "beating the dragon". Panam or Judy don't count as "getting the girl" either, I guess.
I'm a noob when it comes to tabletop, so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the whole point of Silverhand's character that he doesn't want to retire and live as a normal human? That he wants to go down guns blazing, fighting for what he believes in and becoming a legend - an ending that he gets in most cases?
And if your theory about Cyberpunk 2077 being Johnny's story first and foremost is true, than he actually can win, truly and absolutely. As a matter of fact, he can get it pretty good - mess up Arasaka and walk into the sunset practically unscratched.

Well that's your mistake there, because it's not a standalone story. When taken in context with everything that it's based on, it is a story about Silverhand. If it was just a story about V 'trying to survive NC' then 1. Silverhand wouldn't be required, and 2. it would be a pretty crappy story.
You could cut out Silverhand though. It's not as if Silverhand specifically has to be on the Relic for V's story to function.
Cyberpunk, the genre, has never been about 'just surviving'. It's very much about the futility of resisting the inevitable, or otherwise being powerless to stop it. Cyberpunk isn't about surviving anything. It's about being defeated, and the relentless crush of a dark future. Always has been, and this game is no different. There are no heroes, no happy endings. V doesn't beat the dragon, get the girl, and live happily ever after. V still dies. Because what V is primarily is a medium for Johnny to finish his story.