The Witcher 3 Modding

+
don't know if anyone mentioned this but at IGN stream they asked the developer about moding tools. he said they won't be avaialbe at launch and he wasn't sure wether they would be available at all. he said it's up for discussion

Do you have a link to it?

Well there you are totally wrong as Skyrim has the exact same problem, if anything it's even worse because only the last file is applied, compatibility patches are required to make mods work together if they chamge the same files.

I have very little experience of the Witcher 2, but one advantage to editing the Vanilla files is using the User Content folder. This appears toallows you to name a file the same as the games (player.ws, movable.ws, combat.ws, etc) but only contain your changes to be applied to the original.
Mods though would need the same compatibility patches that Skyrim does.

So obviously the compatability isn't the reason for Witcher 2 modding being so small. Linear mechanics is one major factor and 2 years late with RedKit the other.

Actually Skyrim was quite modular as far as modifications go: for example you can modify the iron sword entry in one mod and the steel sword one in another they'd work just fine together (unless you have wild or dirty edits which is the fault of the modder for not cleaning their mod). I wouldn't be able to hit the 255 ESP/ESM limit if this wasn't the case ;)

Sadly this isn't true with most other games where all the swords data might be stored in one file for example. This was an issue with Saint's Row 4 for example where part of the weapon data was stored in one common file which made certain mods incompatible. For example a mod that changed a shotgun mesh and a mod that changed an AR mesh weren't compatible, you had to get to the nitty and gritty and edit the xml files that were several thousand lines long yourself, something most people didn't know how to do properly.