A List of Technical Issues I've Exprerienced with this Game (TW3)

+
Status
Not open for further replies.
I recently got this game after it was on sale, I've always wanted it and I was jumping for joy that I finally got the chance to do so, ever since I started playing, however, I've had a never-ending stream of graphical problems and glitches, I'll be listing all of them here, major, minor, middling, organised into categories as I see fit.

Specs:
Processing Unit: Core i7-8700 @3.2 GHz base clock, 4.6 GHz factory OC
CPU Cooler: Standard Alienware Aurora AIO
GPU: Blower Nvidia GEFORCE GTX 1070 in a x8 gen 3 PCIE slot @ ~1550 MHz clock speed, reaches 1.9- 2GHz with OC | 8GB GDDR4 Dedicated memory, I think the frequency is around 4 GHz, that’s what it says on MSI Afterburner, I think there’s a formula to calculating it but IDK
RAM: 2x8GB Dual Channel DDR4 Memory @2666 MHz
PSU: Standard Dell Alienware 460w Power Supply
Storage: 128GB M.2 SSD + 2TB HDD 7.2K RPM
Soundcard, Wi-Fi Card, and Bluetooth card: Not really sure, don’t really think they’re relevant

Problems:

Rendering and Lighting:

-Shadows are extremely dark (even at blindingly high gamma, at normal gamma, they are practically solid black)
-shadows sometimes act weirdly: shadows coming from distant objects are blob-like and flicker, shadows that are far away look very bad (mostly fixed by tweaking .ini settings, namely the cascade shadow scale settings) this problem seems to be called dithering?
-shadows are a solid colour, no gradient or shading as I've seen in screenshots of the game
-shadows are blocky, and stutter when they move (fixed with the .ini tweaks mentioned above)
-shadows act weirdly with Geralt's non-hairworked hair

-lighting changes abruptly upon entering and exiting areas with different lighting, and sometimes during cutscenes (I think this started happening after I performed a clean install of my drivers)