Big missing piece in the story (Humanity)

+

Guest 4521245

I want to start this discussion and see what others think on this topic, I'm kinda new to the whole Cyberpunk genre and have only watched the original Blade Runner (don't even know if they're comparable). I'm probably a strange point of view on this whole topic, I'm not religious at all but I hold certain values very strongly and I'm sensitive to them being defiled or ruined in any way, so it will be interesting to see if anyone else found this in their gameplay or if I'm alone in this

The basic concept is this: the world of Cyberpunk ISN'T desirable or good, it's a dystopia full of squallor, it represents a society that has completely gone mad and destroyed everything "natural" in the world (or at least north america), there's no value attached to concepts like "purity" or "honesty", some people may still recognize these values but the society at large is so widely "fucked" that it feels like even acting on this is pointless, thus the only important thing becomes "surviving", or trying to climb the ladders up and gain notoriety and power, you die either way basically and there's no salvation, which is the point (I think) and that's good, we need stories like these, it's a cautionary tale