Extremely low framerates upon starting game

+
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Witcher 3 franchise and purchased the game after having seen raving reviews.

I have been experiencing extremely low framerates upon starting of the game (at Kaer Morhen) with 5-8 FPS consistently based on MSI Afterburner.
  • Running the game on low settings for graphics and post-processing.
  • Discrete GPU utilisation around 20+% and the CPU utilisation around 10%.
  • I've tried googling and all the fixes listed here in the forums to no avail, including but not limited to reinstalling the game and clean installs of my drivers.
When I exit to the main menu (of the game), the FPS recovers to 30 (or 60 FPS, whatever setting I choose), which is extremely puzzling.

While I appreciate the MX450 is on the low end of the spectrum of acceptable graphics cards, most published benchmark tests have decent (30-40 FPS) running on medium settings. As you can see from above, I'm not remotely close to those numbers.

My laptop (brand new, 1 month old Lenovo Yoga Slim 7 Pro)
  • Ryzen 7 5800HS Creator Edition 3.2 GHz
  • 16GB RAM (2 slots, 4266 MHz)
  • 1TB SSD
  • GPU1: NVIDIA GeForce MX450 (2GB, 25W, DDR6)
  • GPU2: AMD Radeon(TM) Graphics

Would greatly appreciate anyone's help on how I can salvage this and hopefully get to play this great game!

Many thanks!

What's the second GPU you mentioned, the AMD one?

If you are using two GPUs did you make sure the game only uses the MX450?

If that doesn't help it might be worth checking out this topic from the official support website:
And yes, it's not the same topic, I'm aware of that, but the solutions work for all sorts of issues.
If nothing helps, you can contact support by clicking on "contact us"

Problems like that can be a GPU driver issue. In case of TW3 sometimes slightly older GPU drivers are sometimes better. Unfortunately it's usually difficult to predict what driver works best.