[FX 8350, GTX 970] I completely fixed my crashing issue + get a completely stable 60 FPS. ~20 hours with zero crashes

+
[FX 8350, GTX 970] I completely fixed my crashing issue + get a completely stable 60 FPS. ~20 hours with zero crashes

I'm cross posting my reddit post. Sorry if there are any formatting issues.

Okay so since I started playing on Monday night my game has been plagued with crashes and freezes. I was getting 2 different kinds. The first involved the game window minimizing and then closing by itself. The second was a freeze; the game window was still up but the picture was frozen...game still running according to the sounds that kept playing (had to CTRL ALT Delete and kill the app)

I did a few different things to make my game stop crashing and run better.
Minimizing type of crash - Used to perform a clean install of the GTA V drivers (350.12). This got rid of this kind of crash completely. Unfortunately, the freezing was still there.
Freezing type of crash - I believe underclocking my card fixed this. I underclocked to -20 on the core and memory clocks via MSI Afterburner.
Nvidia Control Panel Tweaks -

• I turned off in game AA and turned on FXAA in the Nvidia Control Panel (this is mostly for performance, but I can't rule out that it didn't help the crashes.)
  • Maximum Prerendered Frames = 1
  • Power Management Mode = Prefer Maximum Performance
  • Vertical Sync - Adaptive
Game Settings -

• VSync - Off
  • Max Frames Per Second - Unlimited
  • Display Mode - Full Screen
  • Nvidia Hairworks - Off
  • Number of Background Characters - Ultra
  • Shadow Quality - Low (can't really notice a difference in quality of shadows to justify leaving this on Ultra, after all I want really stable 60 FPS)
  • Terrain Quality - Ultra
  • Water Quality - High
  • Grass Density - High
  • Texture Quality - Ultra
  • Foliage Visibility Range - High
  • Detail Level - Ultra