Game won't launch on Steam

+
Hey newbie here! Just downloaded the Witcher 3 update through Steam and now my game will not open at all. I have verified my files with no issues. I don't run mods, never have for this game as it is amazing without the mods. Not sure what to do now cause my game is dead. I click Play and then I see the GOG gui and I click Play and the GOG gui goes away and then I see my Steam gui and then the game goes from Running to Not running and that is all I get. Help!! :( Sorry to post this here but I didn't see any other post about this. I am not the only one having this issue but they are posting about this on Steam and I thought I would come here for help. :)

You running DX11 or DX12 ? Might help you if you add that so people can try and help you :) Sadly I can't as the game runs normally for me on both DX11 and DX12.. Also one thing I can suggest is to make sure your pc can run DX12 before trying to launch it in DX12

The game runs fine on DX11 but crashes while loading savefile on DX12. RTX-3070, Ryzen 7 5800X, and 32GB RAMS.

There is definitely some odd behavior seemingly from the Ray Tracing which has terrible performance. Can you get to the Options menu? If so then try turning off Ray Tracing and then load the save which worked for me. Turn off Ray Tracing and just crank the rest of the settings to Ultra+ because the game still looks damned good and the performance is blistering fast. I'm getting 115 FPS inside the inn in White Orchard @ 1440p RTX 3070 Ti, 5800X and 32 GB 3600 dual rank DDR4 so I'm only slightly faster than you

Last edited: