Making History: GWENT Masters' First Female Competitor

+

by David "ImpetuousPanda" Gil Nolskog

The much anticipated Homecoming revamp is soon to arrive, and with it — fundamental changes to the way we all play GWENT. This marks the next GWENT Masters tournament as truly special. Open #7 will be historic, but not only for that reason. For the first time ever in an official GWENT Masters tournament, we will see a female participant competing for the lion’s share of the $25,000 prize pool.

Andrada Radu is going to be in the minority during this historic event, but as a twenty-two-year old computer programmer working in the IT sector, she says she’s already used to this, and it doesn’t bother her one bit. “I am a huge fan of videogames, and they are basically the reason why I pursued a career in Computer Programming. I’ve been playing [video games] since I was around six years old, so I’ve been gaming for a while” she says. Although an extremely competitive person, she had never focused on competitive gaming until GWENT came along, instead enjoying the more physically taxing sport of handball for a little over a decade.

A lot of GWENT’s greatest players started competing and racking up top ladder finishes more than a year ago, but Andrada’s story starts exactly then, in the Open Beta period where many legends had already been established. Three of her rivals-to-be were disputing the spoils of GWENTSlam #1, and Andrada was just then peeking into a world that would gradually start taking more and more of her free time. It wasn’t until March of this year that she finally decided it was time to get serious, and started competing on the Pro Ladder to show she could play among the very best.

The Weekend Warrior