Possible cause for crashes on GTX 970 after patch 1.04

+
Possible cause for crashes on GTX 970 after patch 1.04

Hello there,

Please bear with me since I'm going to be very descriptive

Since I started playing the Witcher 3, the game crashed only twice. After the game updated to v1.04, it crashed twice in less than 15 minutes.

So I started trying to dig what it was, and one of the changes that v1.04 has is that it remembers the option where you set the game to use windowed, borderless fullscreen or exclusive fullscreen. Previous versions of the game always reverted to borderless fullscreen for me, even though I selected exclusive fullscreen again. Since the game didn't remember the option, and since borderless fullscreen was essentialy working the same for me, I stopped trying to change this option, waiting for the patch where it would be corrected.

Since version 1.04 fixed this, I set the option to exclusive fullscreen and the game hung in less than five minutes... Ok, I told myself, this happened before, it's nothing much, it won't happen again so soon. But when I restarted the game, I played it for less than 10 minutes and it hung again.

That's when I got suspicious of something wrong with v1.04 specificaly. Since the only option I had fiddled with between versions was the display mode one, I tried reverting it back to borderless fullscreen, and then played the game for about an hour and stopped playing without any crashes at all.

Since I work and study, I didn't have the time to play for a long period again to test this properly. But it makes sense to me, the game crashed twice on me before the 1.04 patch remember? Maybe it was the times when I tried to set it to exclusive fullscreen. And this issue also happende to another high profile game before, which was the new Tomb Raider. At the time I had a GTX 670, but it was just like now with The Witcher. When the game was configured for exclusive fullscreen it would always hang in less than 10 minutes.