Question regarding NPC meshes and LODs

+
Hey all, so I'm a game developer and I'm trying to emulate the NPC randomization in Cyberpunk, and I was curious what the assets look like under the hood,

Basically right now i load all my 200-ish Clothing pieces into Lists in Unity, and then do some math to generate every possible combination- i then COMBINE all the clothing into a single Skinned Mesh, and then Generate 3 LODs for each combination.
This works out fine, the problem is i have like THOUSANDS of possible combos, and I'm wondering how Cyberpunk handles its randomized NPCs and their LODS.

The issue is I can randomize and combine my skinned meshs at runtime for NPCs, but when i go to generate LODs theres a major lag spike for each NPC when they appear, which obviously isn't gonna work in scenes where i have like 50+ NPCs on screen at a time, constantly culling and re-instantiating.

Anyone whos got a handle on how Cyperpunk NPCs handle their randomization and can provide some insight would be super helpful.

You will want to get the latest Wolvenkit nightly release here: GitHub - WolvenKit/WolvenKit-nightly-releases: Provides WolvenKit nightly releases.

And then hop on the modding discords if you want to go really deep into this. Its way above my paygrade.

I don't know how much of the following information will be useful to you because I don't understand appearance randomisation at code level, I only sort of vaguely understand the file side of it. But not how the mechanics of it work. Just where to find information related to appearance variations from the perspective of a modder who is mostly focused on materials and material design.

Material instances are embedded in a buffer appended to the mesh (REDEngine .mesh). The .mesh file also contains all the LOD submeshes.

The REDEngine file chain for loading meshes into the game looks like this:

global Entity -> global Appearance -> local Entity -> Mesh/Materials.