Replaying TW3, Gwent feels so different

+
Replaying TW3, Gwent feels so different

Just started re-playing TW3 and I did not realise how much Gwent has changed. Two things that I prefer in vanilla Gwent is:

- Cards need to last entire match, no extras. Some minor caveats,

- Cards specific to rows.

When I played new Gwent recently, I noticed that you can move any card into any row. And, you can draw a lot more cards than you ever could. I feel these two things ruin the experience for me and the game would be better if it went back to basics in this regards.

I should say though that I don't play new Gwent anywhere near as much as I thought I would, so I am no expert but, thats because of how un Gwent it feels, compared to TW3.

I haven't played Witcher Gwent (played closed beta), but tutoring and thinning in current Gwent is fine. Mill decks should have a win condition against super-thinning decks for example. You don't draw any cards each turn like in other card games, not going through more than 55% of your deck every game is not how Gwent should be. With preferred rows, some tutors could have slightly different abilities, to not instantly lose against mill decks (like boosting from 1 to 6 strength, etc, not the best value, but better than losing instantly). Preferred rows is of course as well a better solution than row-locked units like in original Witcher Gwent.

Edit: Some tutors might be a bit too good though. Reconnaissance should show you one bronze unit with ability to play it, or choose another bronze unit that you don't see, and play it.

Last edited:
I was a big fan of bringing back importance to rows. All cards agile is just a dumb move that simplifies the game. I was going a preferred row system was going to come back for homecoming instead I learn today rows are no longer a thing

You can (and should) draw all your deck on original witcher 3 gwent due to spies and muster abilities. If you arent, than your deck is probably kinda crappy...