Spear Vs Shield: Shield wins! - Rant about my last game.

+

rrc

Forum veteran
After achieving Francesca Mastery, I started playing for Foltest Mastery as he was my second leader with most wins. I created a deck with two Shields, Tridam, Foltest Usual Suspects (GoD, Seltkirk, Dragons, Eyck) and NR auto-include cards (Ves, Botchling, Reinforced Trebutchet) with Lacrete and fillers. The main reason I added Shields is to handle Blood Thirst units and to try to deny Marauder (and of course for Tridam too).

In my last game I faced Arnjolf. I started with Arbalist + Tactical Advantage. Opponent played Spear. I played Botching followed by Marauder. Botchling becomes Lubberkin and I played Medic. The opponent passed as Blood Thirst couldn't be achieved in that setup. I dry pass R2 and in R3, I had two of my shields in hand.

Opponent started with Spear and I with Shield. Skald and then Reinforced Trebutchet (and now boosted). Patricide was played and my Trebutchet was killed. Now the game got interesting. I deployed my other Shield and boosted a Siren. Now, the opponent tried to keep three blood thirst units but couldn't. After 3 more turns, there was no damaged enemies for the opponent. For the three turns the opponent played the Boost by 5 guy and then captain and that was all. The opponent had to play Wild Boar of Sea for 4 points. Use Champion Hov to do 5 damage.

Such a great feeling. To see Blood Thirst deck panicking and losing. So, I was wondering if everyone could consider adding Shields to their decks. Of course Crach would have handled the situation much better, but two shields (a very lucky hand I agree) in a long R3 totally kills Blood Thirst. Probably the only counter to BT deck?

DRK3

Forum veteran
That's why when i see a NR deck that seems to be boost-based and im using my Arnjolf deck, i try to use my BT units R1 if their conditions are met, and if not i mulligan them R3 for more versatile units that dont brick vs boosts.