Why almost no one reacts to stealing?

+
Why almost no one reacts to stealing?

Hi. I am new to Witcher and I almost didn't play Witcher before I started Witcher 3. I must say the game is so awesome I can't wait to get home and to play it. But one thing is really strange to me. Why can you loot and steal in front of people and they don't react? Sometimes only guards react like in Novigrad and Oxenfurt, but even them not always. I mean you come to someones house you talk to them if they are important NPCs and then you loot all they have and they don't react. In Skyrim people would react if they saw you and they would attack you.

Any thoughts?

iCake

Forum veteran
Thoughts? Apparently the devs didn't develop a complex enough "steal get consequences" system. Whether it was deemed "unnecessary" or they just ran out of time/money is anybody's guess. Is it bad that such mechanics are lacking? Of course, but I'd say all the other little things make up for it in full.

Would have been a nice feature even if they just made a sly comment but not really needed given the guards do react if you loot anything besides I love looting houses as some of those peasants are loaded with jewels, rare elements, gold & silver they have it all stashed away. Spent a whole night once going from house to house in Toussaint & must have cleared them all & dam that's one rich city with much better pickings than in Novigrad.

Well, look at it this way. If a heavily armed mutated murderer were to rob my house, I wouldn't do a god damn thing and let him take anything he wants. Wouldn't want to spark that ire, oh no sirree.

Yeah, OK. You would not attack him. But be annoyed, run for help, yel. Some reaction now and then would make the world so much more immersive.