Witcher 2 - Will not Launch With 32-Core or Higher CPUs (SOLVED)

+
I just built a PC with a 3950X AMD CPU with 32 Cores. I have discovered Witcher 2 through Steam does not launch on any machine i've tried running all 32 cores, but it will run perfectly fine when using 31 cores. It took me all night to figure this out. Thankfully im a tech and a nerd. I have created a post in Steam to let users know about my discovery. I know most gamers will not have a 3950X, but I wanted to let anyone know.

To run Witcher 2 on a PC with 32 Core or higher, you can launch it like so:

- Quit out of Steam through Task Manager
- Open Notepad
- Type in the following

@echo off
C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start /affinity 7FFFFFFF (type in the path for steam here)

- Save as whateveryouwant.bat
For me, the script looks like this.

@echo off
C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start /affinity 7FFFFFFF C:\Steam\steam.exe

This will create a batch program that will launch Steam using 31 cores. You may then play Witcher 2 and any other game giving you similar trouble.

Last edited:
Glad you were able to sort out your issue! You have surely pleased the machine spirit! :) And, thank you for taking the time to share the results.

Just do be aware that what works perfectly on one PC may not work at all on the next. Especially when dealing with CPUs that have 8+ cores, those chips are mostly made for productivity, not really gaming. Games tend to utilize only a few cores, and may run better on CPUs that have fewer cores at higher GHz, rather than many cores at lower GHz. (That's not the case with all games, but I'd say the vast majority still do not take advantage of all of those extra cores.) Where CPUs of 8+ cores and logic processors shine is compiling code, importing / exporting 3D models, rendering video, and so forth.

Thanks, yall!