tablet? + first digital art experience

+
tablet? + first digital art experience

I've always been old school about art(using only traditional paint/pen). However watching the new witcher E3 video inspired me to attempt to get with the 20th century and so I finally bit the bullet and purchased Corel painter 12 and I love it. This drawing is not very good but it is my very first attempt at digital art and is just me messing around trying to figure out the program. I have to say I can't believe how great and natural painter 12 feels. I'm definitely going to do more digital now as it seems way easier/faster than traditional. However I do think that I may need to get a bigger drawing tablet though. My current one is old(I've had it for years, but only now just used it) it is the Bamboo wacom model MTE-450A
Does anyone have any recommendations on something a little better/bigger but easy on the wallet?
thanks,
my art website My link

Welcome to the forum! I can't see your attached file, please use an external hoster - seems the forum can't handle files very well and it takes ages for attached graphics to load :(.

As for your question: The Bamboo is fine if you're just starting out. I've used a tiny old Graphire A5 for years until I switched to a larger Intuos model and now I'm using a Cintiq. The small size restricts your movements, but that's about it. If you're really thinking about getting serious, then I recommend a new Intuos A4, but there are a lot of different brands available and graphics tablet-screen hybrids are getting cheaper and better. I prefer Wacom because their pens don't require a battery which makes the pen lighter - but as you probably know Wacom isn't exactly cheap. A good altenative to Wacom is Yiynova. I haven't tested those tablets yet, but reviews are generally positive.