While I was waiting for 2.11

+

XianeX

Forum regular
While I was waiting for 2.11, I replayed Sleeping Dogs, then beat Just Cause 3 and 4 for the first time. Afterward, I started playing Saints Row. . . Several observations! First, Saints Row the new game looks beautiful, BUT it doesn't compare to Cyberpunk 2077. It actually has more in common with Sleeping Dogs when it comes to driving. Cyberpunk 2077 set a standard that's going to box out a lot of games that won't meet such a high bar of quality and forward-thinking. However, Saints Row aside, I started thinking about a lot of technical issues and approaches that I think are missing from CP77.

NPCs in Just Cause and Sleeping Dogs do things I really would like to see in the future of Cyberpunk 2077. The technical issue is that I think that Just Cause was able to do things that weren't done in CP77 because of spacing. When the world is so spaced out, there aren't a lot of resources that will have conflicts like they tend to have in CP77. "Cities" in Just Cause are so spaced out that there is absolutely NO WAY for one city's resources to be loaded in RAM when you're in another. What bothers me about that in CP77 is that I think it's much of the reason that the world can't be as immersive as some may want.