2.1 patch LOD issues + other stuff

+
Hi!

So, since patch 2.1 the game's been acting strange.

I understand that there were some overhauls in the pathtracing mode...It's the mode I started playing the game with after 2.0 and PL came out, but after 2.1 it's just been really weird. It was never perfect (sometimes the floor would disappear and things would glow, the issue with models going black when they swap LODs is still there - annoying, btw!), but never as bad as it is now where models just outright DISAPPEAR at a certain distance.

See the videos below:

This one's just shocking:

A random model I noticed:

Another major one... I think you see the point by now:

These are just a couple I filmed after getting tired of seeing it, but I KEEP seeing this horrid "disappear > pop-in" around the map. It's really bad.

In general, fading LOD transitions annoy me in games. They are far more visible/noticeable than an instant swap purely because there's now an entire animation that goes on, instead of an instant flick that you might not notice or pass off as something else. But now that the LOD loading distances are borked - we end up with a gap of no model at all...marvelous... How did this pass QC?

As for the extra nagging stuff:

The aforementioned black shading that happens when LOD models swap...why is this still a thing? I have a 4090, so I'd appreciate an option to just maybe load MORE stuff onto the GPU memory in advance at a greater distance so it wouldn't be as obvious as objects swapping 5-30m in front of the camera?

Sometimes chunks of water disappear... Also likely a LOD issue - see screenshots below. How has this passed QC when all it took me is 1 sitdown to notice this? (I'm obviously posting this well after the patch came out, you know - life).

Disappearing water (5 screenshots in sequence showing chunks of water + other objects disappearing):