Playing with Path Tracing without DLSS causes my PC to eventually reset

+

yabab

Forum regular
Hey, folks! Ran into an interesting issue that I'm having a hard time pinning down and I'd like to share it with you to check if it happens with anyone else.

First, my specs:

i9 10900K
32Gb RAM
RTX 3080 Ti 12Gb
2TB XPG NVMe SSD

I have a 4K TV and was playing the game with Path Tracing, targeting 30 FPS at 1440p using DLSS Quality and the game ran fine for a few hours.

Unfortunately, I ran into some trouble with my Bluetooth headphones, so playing on my TV was out of the question due to its placement.

As a result, I started playing on a smaller 1080p display I have available. AFAIK, 1440p using DLSS Quality is 1080p internally. So I decided to cut the middleman and try playing with Path Tracing without the Deep Learning Super Sampling.

The performance is similar to my previous configuration and I'm happy with it. Except the game causes my rig to suddenly restart every once in a while. This usually happens during scene changes, either right after a loading screen or during a transition with no loading - like the Braindances in 'The Information'.

Might be unrelated, might not be: I also noticed that the performance without DLSS takes a moment to 'warm up'. If I run the benchmark with my DLSS set up, the game runs at a solid 30 FPS instantly. If I run the benchmark without DLSS, the first run will start at 20 FPS and slowly improve towards 30 FPS. If I run the benchmark again without DLSS, then the performance is instantly stable at 30 FPS.

I already have a ticket open about this, #15721; but wanted to collect some impressions from the community anyway. I'm currently playing with DLSS on at 1080p simply because I can avoid the resets if it's enabled.

Has anyone tried to play with Path Tracing without DLSS?

Last edited: