Skyrim

+
I'm not an expert, but generally very careful about mods and follow the mod authors' instructions on load order and compatibility- and that mod was unworkable for me. It also wasn't that fun. A bit of novelty and then drudgery with the tons of special legion mages appearing out of thin air, for example. And of course since it changes scripts, you can't just back out of the game. Even after I nuked all the saves that I'd made while running it, my previous saves were corrupted, too.

Trying to get the realistic combat mods working. I'm a couple of hours into the game, and there's no way in hell I'm continuing with enemies requiring so many hits to go down.

Trying to get the realistic combat mods working. I'm a couple of hours into the game, and there's no way in hell I'm continuing with enemies requiring so many hits to go down.
I'd say for a first run through the game leave those kinds of mods until you hit lvl 25-30 at least. Once you have 50-60 hours in skyrim you will know what mods you're looking for and how you want to mix up stuff.

In TES games it's always a good idea to start without mods and see what really annoys you, apart from the must haves like better UI or inventory stuff that everyone uses.

I was looking for a different thread, but then stumbled on this. Couldn't resist not to post something. :)

Okay. I'm not familiar with the series you mention, but Skyrim is indeed meant to be roleplayed, just like the developers said. And since they support modding, that's also as intended. So I don't really get how you can be so hostile to a game that allows you to do something that practically no other game out there does.