32/64-bit and TW3

+
32/64-bit and TW3

I'm new to the differences between 32-bit and 64-bit (windows). Could somebody explain is 64-bit "must" for a demanding game like TW3 if one wanted to play it maxed? Or could the experience be almost as good with 32-bit?

Is it true that if I got 16gb of RAM, 32-bit only uses up to 4gb?

Yes. 32 bit operating systems can (normally) address only 4 GB of RAM. There are various workarounds, but they are quite pointless if you have an ability to run a proper 64 bit operating system.

Why 32 bit integer can address only 4 GB of RAM. Each bit can have only 2 values: (0 and 1). 32 bits therefore can have 2 ^ 32 values. Each value addresses one byte of physical memory. So you can address 2 ^ 32 bytes with a 32 bit integer. 2 ^ 32 bytes = 4 * 2 ^ 30 bytes = 4 * 2 ^ 10 * 2 ^ 10 * 2 ^ 10 bytes = 4 * 1024 * 1024 * 1024 bytes = 4 GB.

The computer's RAM is referenced by physical addresses, in a way similar to giving directions to a house within a condo or a residential complex, or a building in a city center. This means you need some kind of container to hold those addresses, which you might think of as simple numbers.

Computers normally represent data in a binary numerical system consisting of zero's and one's, as this is an easy step up from the mode of operation of the computer's internal electronic components. What we call a "bit" is simply a binary digit, that is, 0 or 1. Data is organized normally in groups of 8 bits, also called bytes. You can use a number of bytes to represent numbers, letters, or any other symbol. Memory addresses have to be represented in bytes, and therefore we are limited to representing as many different memory locations as your bit density allows.