Game and Visual Design Ideas - Trimming Gwent #1: Coins

+
Game and Visual Design Ideas - Trimming Gwent #1: Coins

I've a bunch of suggestions, that I'm going to share over a series of posts. The community's feedback is important, so you all are encouraged to reply. Not sure what CDPR has in mind for Gwent, and how much of it are they still willing or planning to change, but this is what I think and how I would've made Gwent.

I've been playing the game for almost 6 months now, and the game is visually inconsistent (as in different sections of the game, like main menu, look way different or even better than certain others), apparently because it's still an unfinished product. And one of the most ugliest things in Gwent, in my opinion, is the coin. We've so many different currencies in the Witcher (orens, florens and crowns), and a couple others which weren't in the game, so it makes less sense why we're stuck with a plastic-looking coin, which although serves its purpose well, gives the game an unrealistic feel, even disconnecting it from the franchise.

And since the Witcher universe has multiple currencies, another advantage of doing this would be that these coins could be used as an alternative collectible, much like avatars, since Gwent is ultimately a collectible game. Moreover, players could choose the coin of their favourite faction (in the Trinkets section) to show their support. Monster faction could have no coin, carved stones, or Wild Hunt coins.