The Silent Seabirds of Skellige

+
The Silent Seabirds of Skellige

This is my first time on these boards, so hi everybody!
Can I use this opportunity to ask about the silent sea birds of Skellige? It's a "tiny" issue that has been haunting me since I've first landed on Skellige Islands.

There are seagulls aplenty flying around but no sound of screething gulls can be heard neither on sea or near harbors.

In Blood & Wine, at the harbor in San Sebastian, they did implement ambient seabird noises and it makes a huge difference to the feeling of being near a large body of water.

My biggest wish is for those ambient seabird noises to somehow be implemented into Skellige.
It's such a small detail but once you notice it (is not there) it becomes very jarring.
Considering ambient bird noises are everywhere else in the game -from song birds in the Toussaint countryside to carrion birds in Velen.

I realize that putting in ambient sounds isn't just something easily done but compared to other crazy fan wishes or fixes to Witcher 3, I think it is at least a very moderate wish :)

Thank you for reading and thank you CDPR for an amazing game.

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forums :)

Interesting point, I never actually realized that :blink: I was just so amazed when birds were tsirping in the woods. And Skellige seas offer you a lot of sounds that you don't actually want to hear, never :D At least I didn't... Oh those creepy and super annoying sirens...

Thanks!
Yeah, I never really see people commenting on the lack of seagull screams so I don't think many even realized the lack of seabird ambient sounds.
I'm chalking it up to development crunch, it either slipped CDPR's mind or they didn't feel it warranted the attention -and maybe they were correct, seeing as no one ever notices it :p