What if I'm new to Cyberpunk World ?

+

What would you do with newcomers, will they be disadvantaged when they haven't play Cyberpunk 2020? I'm one of them. I know that I have about 2 years to get know about everything but I think that I will be missing a lot. What about that?

Read up on Cyberpunk, browse through the forums, maybe try to get your hands on the PnP Cyberpunk games. I would highly recommend DATAFORTRESS 2020 from Wisdom000 for information on Cyberpunk: http://datafortress2020.oliwy.net/
Also, very surprisingly Wikipedia actually has a decent article about Cyberpunk: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyberpunk

EDIT: If you haven't seen it, take a look at this. Mike Pondsmith about the cyberpunk world:

Here's a list of Cyberpunk style games, you could try to pick up some of these, as they are easier to get your hands on than the original Cyberpunk PnP games: http://www.cyberpunk.net/forum/en/threads/268-Cyberpunk-Games-LIST-EM-HERE!

Hi and welcome to the forums!

As you said, we're still at least 2 years from release, so there's plenty of time to get familiar with the Cyberpunk setting. Some of our users are already sharing their knowledge in this thread. Check it out, the info there should be a good start!

As for the game, I bet CDPR will consider some introduction to the world, they are already doing it with the teaser trailer and Mike Pondsmith talking about Cyberpunk world

So, I suggest you start reading, watching and visiting this forum, you'll catch up with Cyberpunk in no time :)

Forum veteran
What would you do with newcomers, will they be disadvantaged when they haven't play Cyberpunk 2020?
I doubt that knowledge of the Cyberpunk world will be necessary for the game. That's a high bar to force gamers to clear since there are a lot of people who won't be intimately familiar with the rules when the game releases. As such, it's all but inevitable that everything necessary to enjoying the game will be explained in the game itself.