Predicted witcher 3 system specs? Can I run it .

+
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not really an expert on hard- and software and I told what you guys said to my friend about the purpose and use of SSD's and he told me that you better put your OS on a SSD because a SSD has more effect on a OS then on games.
He told me that an SSD has no effect on performance and he showed me some graphs and testing result wich proved his point. Putting an OS on a SSD only takes up 15Gb and if you have 120GB you have plenty of space to put your programs which you use every day on it.
Could any of you comment on that?

I think that "advice" comes from people who do not know how operating systems work. The exact opposite is my thesis. Putting Windows on SSD is a waste of good SSD, because Windows does not respect the character of an SSD. SSD is at its best when it is read-mostly. But Windows scribbles crap all over its system disk, almost to the point of being write-mostly.

What you really want is applications to load fast. Not Windows. Windows isn't loading itself when you're running applications. But running applications is exactly everything you are doing when you are using your computer productively. This means:

Put Windows itself on HDD. That way you are not wasting SSD space on updates, cache files, pagefile, hibernate file, and temporary files. The only thing you lose is fast booting of Windows itself. This should not affect you, unless you frequently shut down and reboot your computer.

Install any application that lets you choose the install location to SSD. That way, all the application program files, support libraries, and resources will load from the SSD.

If you have large data files, locate the folder (usually your Documents folder) that holds these to the SSD.

Last edited: