Activate 4K resolution on a dell UltraSharp screen

+
Status
Not open for further replies.
Activate 4K resolution on a dell UltraSharp screen

Hello,

I am not a very expert in graphics stuff so i need some advice.

I have a 4K enabled monitor with a resolution of 3840 x 2160.

I also have 3 x gtx 980 nvidia cards.

To fully enjoy 4K what i need to do.

Turn on SLI, or is the resolution already enough? Or do i need to do something else?

If you aren't confident in your graphical tuning abilities, I recommend opening Geforce Experience, click on games -> scan for games if you haven't already, then click on 'optimize' under The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt and check if the resolution there is 3840x2160. If it isn't, then manually (still under the witcher 3 wild hunt) set that resolution.

Definitely turn SLI on, it will improve your performance greatly. Once you are in-game, check your graphics settings; I recommend turning on v-sync, maximum framerate = unlimited (or 60) and your resolution should be 3840x2160. Enjoy the game :)

---------- Updated at 09:18 PM ----------

What on Earth do you need 3 GTX 980 cards for? Are you mining Bitcoins?
Two 980s only achieve around 40fps at 4k ultra.

Two 980s only achieve around 40fps at 4k ultra.

Interesting. I guess high resolutions are still too taxing. GPUs didn't catch up to that yet. I'd say it's an overkill anyway, since it requires too much power to function. And visually you don't gain that much.

Interesting. I guess high resolutions are still too taxing. GPUs didn't catch up to that yet. I'd say it's an overkill anyway, since it requires too much power to function. And visually you don't gain that much.

It's not so much that the GPU's haven't caught up, its the sheer number of pixels that need to be rendered.

1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600
2560 x 1440 = 3,686,400
3840 x 2160 = 8,294,400

It's just a very steep increase and the power needed to render all that...