Can't escape Devil's Pit (Witcher 3)

+
Hello
I started playing the Witcher 3, and finished the first part. I came across the Quest "In the Eternal Fire's Shadow". My level is too low to continue the quest, unfortunately I am stuck in a pit with 4 Ghoul like enemies.
The problem is that I cannot escape the pit. In order to run away from my enemies Geralt has to climb/ jump, but unfortunately I am always stuck in the combat mode. I am playing on X Box S, so when I press B in order to climb he does these backdashs. Sometimes I manage to run but the moment I want to climb he is again in combat mode.
How can you get out of combat efficiently and climb your way out of the pit?

I guess you don't have a preious save to reload ?
On side note, if you have a hard time with the "random" enemies, I assume it will be (very, very) hard when facing the "boss" :(
Maybe consider to lower the difficulty at max, simply to beat these 4 enemies and get out (In my opinion, against high level enemies, the most "effective" is to use IGNIS, because you have chance to apply a burning effect which make them unable to attack and (not sure), but IGNIS damages are a % of the health).

Last edited:
Have you tried manually sheathing your sword? Just before you try to climb sheath your sword and it may switch out of combat mode long enough to start the climb

I tried manually sheathing my sword unfortunately Geralt understands this as an invitation to start a fist fight with those enemies.
The enemies were not "random" they appeared after a cut scene. It's just frustrating that I can't climb a ledge that is knee high, because I am stuck in combat mode.

I tried manually sheathing my sword unfortunately Geralt understands this as an invitation to start a fist fight with those enemies.
The enemies were not "random" they appeared after a cut scene. It's just frustrating that I can't climb a ledge that is knee high, because I am stuck in combat mode.