No Branching Story Confirmed.But what does it mean?

+
No Branching Story Confirmed.But what does it mean?

Hello to all.I am new to the witcher forum and i think it's quite funny that the word witcher is underlined with red as if its a spelling mistake.
So branching stories :The witcher 3 has none of them.Or so said the video Q&A . I am quite devastated by that(to the point of not being able to sleep) because i am a fan of the interactive story type of mentality and i was blown away by the witcher 2 in that respect..The question which can only be answered by playing the game but i so much want to know the answer right now is: What did they mean by saying that they did away with branching storylines?My biggest worry is that the in game choices will have repercussions that don't meaningfully alter the course of events ala witcher 2 but instead burn a village or two or kill a cow herd or some orphans(who were a plot device a little too obviously ) and that's it.But they could just mean that there won't be areas getting unlocked or locked (or lockpicked) based on your choices like the witcher 2 again and there will still be quest chains locked and unlocked ,for example killing that character still leads you to a different path of quests than sparing him but not to different areas.Or they could mean that the branching is not so extreme but it still exists.So what's your opinion on that and what is your opinion in general about branching storylines, are they any good or do they suck a fat kaedweni guard's. Are there any older posts on this topic too,forgive me but i didnt look.

Hi, I think they just phrased it poorly. Our choices will matter and shape our playthrough in meaningful ways, just not to the extent of TW2.

I think "there will still be quest chains locked and unlocked" and maybe even some minor areas may become inaccessible, or like they said, a village may burn to the ground based in one of your choices.

Don't worry, go to sleep